Watch CNBC APAC’s Sustainable Future Forum: Providing Energy

0

CNBC’s Sustainable Future Forum Asia on Tuesday focuses on energy supply.

No discussion of our sustainable future would be complete without a look at how we are going to fuel change. Fossil fuels are still our main source of energy, but things are changing.

CNBC is looking at the energy transition, from the role that legacy energy providers will play to new start-ups looking to change the business model one green step at a time.

The schedule for Tuesday’s sessions is below, and click here for the full week’s schedule.

Fireside: Funding Indonesia’s Climate Commitments
2:00 p.m. SGT / HK | 7 a.m. BST
Sri Mulyani Indrawati, Minister of Finance of Indonesia.

As Southeast Asia’s largest energy consumer, Indonesia is crucial for the region’s energy transition. The country’s Finance Minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati joins us in discussing the $ 5.7 billion that she says is needed each year to fund her green energy transition, how she plans to fund the net zero crossing and what are the government’s climate objectives before COP26.

Panel: Where is Asia-Pacific on the path to decarbonization?
2:15 p.m. SGT / HK | 7:15 BST

Richard Lancaster, CEO of CLP Holdings, and Malcolm Turnbull, former Prime Minister of Australia.

As Prime Minister of Australia, Malcolm Turnbull has played a central role in putting climate change on the national agenda. In his latest role, as inaugural chairman of GH2, he aims to put green hydrogen production at the center of the region’s transition to decarbonization. He is joined by Richard Lancaster, CEO of CLP Holdings, one of the largest investors in the power sector in Asia-Pacific, to discuss the task ahead and the steps they have taken to phase out their plants. coal by 2040.

Panel: Can hydrogen fuel the energy transition?
6.30 p.m. SGT / HK | 11:30 am BST

Marco Alverà, CEO of Snam, and Christian Bruch, CEO of Siemens Energy.

With the clean energy transition underway, hydrogen is back in the spotlight. Offering a lightweight, storable, and energy-intensive solution to delivering cleaner energy, green hydrogen is playing an increasingly important role in the journey to a low-carbon future. The Italian energy infrastructure operator Snam and the German Siemens Energy will talk to us about the role that hydrogen can play in fueling the energy transition, if this transition happens quickly enough and what investments are still needed.

Add to calendar

By the fireside: Accelerating the energy transition
7 p.m. SGT / HK | 12 p.m. BST

Ignacio Galan, Chairman and CEO of Iberdrola.

Ignacio Galán, CEO of Iberdrola, has long been a champion of renewable energy, transforming the company from a fossil fuel power plant operator into an offshore wind and solar power plant. He wants there to be a sense of urgency in Europe’s transition to cleaner energy and will discuss how we get there, his strategy to double Iberdrola’s renewable energy capacity from by 2025 and the impact that the gas crisis will have on Europe in the long term. decarbonisation objectives.

Subscribe to CNBC International on YouTube.


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.